Uganda Cricket

Uganda flag

Uganda Cricket Team Guide

One of the emerging African cricketing nations, the Uganda cricket team is administered by the UCA, also known as the Uganda Cricket Association. The country has had a complex history in the world of cricket, but in the modern era, it aims to prove its worth on the global stage amongst other international cricket teams.

History of Uganda Cricket Team

Cricket in Uganda has a history dating back to the early 20th century when it was introduced by the British. The modern Uganda cricket team saw significant steps during this period, with them participating in a number of big cricketing tournaments. Uganda has actually participated in the Cricket World Cup on multiple occasions, but not as the Uganda cricket team. 

Between 1975 and 1987, they were known as the East African cricket team, with this team of players from nations such as Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia and Uganda. The same could be said between 1992 and 1999 when they were part of the East and Central African cricket team. However, 1998 saw the Uganda cricket team actually gain ICC associate member status independently following the formation of the Uganda Cricket Association.

Where Does The Uganda Cricket Team Play?

The Uganda cricket team actually has various cricket stadiums across the country, with the Kyambogo Cricket Oval in Kampala being their primary venue. This has hosted a whole array of international matches, and the same can be said for the Lugogo Cricket Oval, also situated in the same city.

Former Captains Of The Uganda Cricket Team

Since 2021, Brian Masaba has been one of the main captains of the Uganda cricket team. Other notable players who have also led the nation out include Davis Karashani Arinaitwe and all-rounder Kenneth Waiswa.

Top Run Scorers In Uganda Cricket Team History

Simon Ssesazi is one of the leading run scorers for the Uganda cricket team. The left-hand batter was the first to surpass 1500 runs and is one of the only players for his nation to hit a century in a test match.

Top Wicket Takers In Uganda Cricket Team History

Slow left-arm orthodox bowler Henry Ssenyondo is one of the most notable wicket takers for the Uganda cricket team, Dinesh Maganiai Nakrani being another. The latter was actually the first to take 5 wickets in a single match for Uganda. 

Memorable Games For The Uganda Cricket Team

The first major tournament the Uganda cricket team participated in independently was the 2001 ICC Champions Trophy. They started off strong, winning their first 5 first-round matches before losing a crucial playoff match against the UAE cricket team for progression into the second round. Although this wasn’t exactly ideal for Uganda, it did prove the potential this international team had going forward in the cricketing world.

In 2018, the ICC granted full T20 International status to all of the associate members, including the Uganda cricket team. In May of the following year, Uganda faced off against Botswana in their first-ever T20I match. The opposition won the toss, choosing to field first. Stepping up to the crease, the Uganda cricket team mustered up 142 runs from the 70 overs, with Arnold Otwani managing 44 from 27 balls. Botswana followed, however, only managed to hit 90 runs, partially thanks to Frank Nsubiga, who took 2 wickets early on. Uganda would see out the game, winning by 52 runs in a historic match for the nation.

Rivals Of The Uganda Cricket Team

The Uganda cricket team doesn’t have any distinct rivals per se; however, they have had many competitive matches against the Kenya cricket team and Namibia cricket team. The same can be said for many other neighbouring nations on the African continent.