Philippines Cricket

Philippines Cricket Team Guide

The Philippines cricket team represents the Philippines in international cricket. The team is organized by the Philippine Cricket Association (PCA), which became an affiliate member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2003 and has been an associate member since 2017.

History of Philippines Cricket Team

The Philippines cricket team its Twenty20 debut in 2011 at the East Asia-Pacific Division 2 in Samoa, where they won against several countries before losing to the host nation in the final. This tournament was the Philippines’ first ICC-sanctioned match. Over the years, they participated in various tournaments, including the ICC East Asia-Pacific Men’s Championship and the ICC Cricket World Cup East Asia-Pacific Region Qualifiers. The team made its Twenty20 International debut in March 2019.

Where Does The Philippines Cricket Team Play?

The Philippines cricket team initially had the Manila Nomads Sports Club grounds in Parañaque as its home venue. However, after the Nomads’ grounds closed, they moved to the cricket grounds of the Emilio Aguinaldo College in Dasmariñas, Cavite, which was the sole cricket venue in the country as of 2017.

Top Run Scorers In Philippines Cricket Team History

Daniel Smith and left hand batter Jan Haider Kiani were the first two players to make it past the 300 mark for the Philippines cricket team, with both of these making their debuts in 2017.

Top Wicket Takers In Philippines Cricket Team History

Daniel Smith and Kepler Dean Ang Lukies were the first two bowlers to take 10 wickets for the Philippines cricket team in T20I cricket. The latter was actually the first to take 5 wickets in one game for his country in the same cricket format.

Memorable Games For The Philippines Cricket Team

One of the memorable games was their Twenty20 International debut on 22 March 2019, where they lost to the Papua New Guinea cricket team by 133 runs in the 2018–19 ICC T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific Qualifier.

Rivals Of The Philippines Cricket Team

The Philippines has played against many teams in the T20Is, including the Bahrain cricket team, Cambodia cricket team, Canada cricket team, Papua New Guinea cricket team and Vanuatu cricket team amongst many others. However, they have not yet had any rivalries despite the highly competitive matches.