Bangladesh Cricket

Latest Bangladesh Cricket Team News

Indian Cricket Fans | Cricket Today

Angelo Mathews Becomes The First Ever Timed Out Player

Angelo Mathews has become the first-ever player to be given out without facing a ball. The ICC ODI World Cup …

Bangladesh National Cricket Team Guide

The Bangladesh national cricket team, or the Tigers as they are commonly known are governed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). They are full ICC members, making frequent appearances in the ICC ODI World Cup, T20 World Cup, the Asia Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy.

History of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team

The Bangladesh national cricket team entered the International stage in 1979 when they played in England in the ICC Trophy, a ICC ODI World Cup qualifying tournament between associate nations. They won that competition in 1997 to qualify for the 1999 World Cup in England for the first time. The Bangladesh national cricket team were granted Test Test status in 2000 as the 10th Test playing nation. They have gradually become more competitive, especially in home conditions. Results in white ball cricket have been more consistent than in the Test arena.

Where Does The Bangladesh National Cricket Team Play?

Bangladesh’s International cricket stadium is located in Dhaka, the capital city but they also play games in cities such as Chattogram, Khulna, and Syllhet.

Former Captains Of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team

Bangladesh’s introduction into Test Cricket was a harsh learning curve. After losing their first Test against the Indian cricket team in 2000 they would have to wait four years for a victory in the longest format defeating the Zimbabwe national cricket team away from home. The man who led them to that milestone was batsman Habibul Bashar. He can also boast Bangladesh national cricket team victories over Australia, India, South Africa under his captaincy.

Shakib Al Hasan has stepped back from his role as ODI captain of the Bangladesh national cricket team but still leads the team in Tests and T20’s. He’s currently regarded as one of the World’s finest all rounders, with his aggressive middle order batting and accurate left arm spin. Hasan is arguably Bangladesh’s finest ever cricketer.

Top Run Scorers in Bangladesh National Cricket Team History

Dashing opener Tamin Iqbal has scored 15,135 runs for the Bangladesh national cricket team between 2007-2023, hitting 25 centuries across all formats.

Top Wicket Takers in Bangladesh National Cricket Team History

Leading all rounder Shakib Al Hasan has taken 670 wickets for the Bangladesh national cricket team, just one of the reasons he is regarded as one of the countries best ever players.

Memorable Games for the Bangladesh National Cricket Team

May 31, 1999 was the day the Bangladesh national cricket team announced itself on the World stage. The Tigers defeated giants Pakistan in the World Cup at Northampton. Bangladesh’s 223/9 didn’t look enough against the star studded batting line up of the Pakistan national cricket team, but 3/31 from Khaled Mahmud saw Pakistan tumble to 161 all out sparking joyous celebrations not just at the Wantage Road ground but across Bangladesh. This victory went a long way to Bangladesh being granted full ICC membership just a year later.

The 2005 English summer was famous for its great Ashes cricket series, but England weren’t the only team to defeat Australia. Before The Ashes, the Bangladesh national cricket team played in a ODI tri series against England and Australia which produced one their greatest victories. Batting first at Cardiff, the Australia cricket team scored 249/5 on a pitch that wasn’t the easiest for free flowing batting. At 72/3 things seemed to be going to plan for the Aussies, a team who were to win the World Cup the third consecutive time just two years later, but a brilliant 100 from 101 deliveries from Mohammad Ashraful stunned the world champions, guiding the Bangladesh national cricket team to victory by five wickets in the final over of the match.