India Cricket

Latest Indian Cricket Team News

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium | Cricket Today

England Dismantled As India Win Test Series 4-1

After already conceding defeat in the 2024 India vs England Test series after the 4th test, the England cricket team …
Ranchi Cricket Ground | Cricket Today

India Secure 2024 Test Series Victory Against England

After a landslide victory in the 3rd test of the series, the India cricket team hoped to secure the test …
India Flag | Cricket Today

India Take A 2-1 Lead In The 2024 Test Series Vs England

After levelling up the series in the second test of the series, the India national cricket team aimed to replicate …
2024 India vs England Test Series | Cricket Today

India Bounce Back In Second Test Against England

After a dominating first test for England, the India national cricket team hoped to bounce back in the second test …
India vs England 2024 Test Series | Cricket Today

India Dismantled As England Win Sensational First Test

Tests between England and India are always highly contested any some of the most exciting matchups in the world of …
India vs England Test Series 2024 | Cricket Today

Previewing India vs England Cricket Test Series 2024

The anticipation only continues to build towards the first game day of India and Englands first test series of 2024 …
India Cricket Stadium | Cricket Today

Misery For India As Australia Triumph: ICC World Cup Final 2023

Fittingly the two pre-tournament favourites reached the ICC World Cup Final as host nation India took on the Australian men’s …

Indian National Cricket Team Guide

Indian cricket is the powerhouse of the game. It is governed by the BCCI and is a full ICC member. The men’s team have full Test, ODI and T20 international status.

History Of Indian National Cricket Team

The Indian national cricket team played its first international match, a test against the England cricket team at Lords, in June 1932 and had to wait until 1952 for its first test victory. The team started to grow stronger by the 1970’s with the emergence of great players such as Sunil Gavaskar and all rounder Kapil Dev. India have since won 5 major ICC trophies, winning the ICC ODI World Cup twice, the T20 World Cup, and the ICC Champions Trophy on two occasions. India also competed in the inaugural World Test Championship final losing to New Zealand to finish runners up.

Where Does The Indian National Cricket Team Play?

Most major cities in this cricket loving nation have hosted the Indian national cricket team from Dharamshala at the foot of the snow capped Himalayan mountains to the North to Chennai lapping the Indian Ocean to South. The most famous and iconic Indian cricket venues are probably the vast Eden Gardens in Kolkata, the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and the newly opened Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad which boasts a capacity of 132,000. This is actually the largest sports stadium in the world!

Former Captains Of The Indian National Cricket Team

Kapil Dev, one of the world’s finest all rounders, guided the Indian national cricket team to ICC ODI World Cup glory in 1983 defeating the great West Indian team in a low scoring affair at Lords for India’s first major success of the World stage. It’s two more modern greats that had more consistent success in all formats of cricket for India. Two contrasting characters from the serene composure of MS Dhoni to the ultra competitive and pumped up Virat Kohli but the pair can be regarded as some of the most successful captains in the history of the Indian national cricket team.

Top Run Scorers In The Indian National Cricket Team

‘The little master’ Sachin Tendulkar scored an incredible 34,327 international runs for the Indian national cricket team, making an unprecedented 100 international centuries.

Top Wicket Takers For The Indian National Cricket Team

Leg spinner Anil Kumble is the leading wicket taker of the Indian national cricket team, with 953 international scalps to his name.

Memorable Games For The Indian National Cricket Team

In February 1999 Anil Kumble became only the second bowler in Test history after England’s Jim Laker to take all ten wickets in a Test innings. This came at Delhi in the 2nd Test of the series against the Pakistan national cricket team. Set 420 to win, Kumble literally bowled India to victory taking 10-74.

Yuvraj Singh lit up the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, hitting England’s Stuart Broad for six sixes in a single over at Durban, South Africa. Singh scored 58 in just 16 balls to power India to 218 for 4. The Indian national cricket team would go on to win the tournament defeating Pakistan in the final.

Rivals Of The Indian National Cricket Team

India’s greatest rivals are neighbours Pakistan. Unfortunately meetings on the pitch have become few and far between exclusively confined to ICC tournaments due to political issues between the two nations. Although not exactly rivals, the Indian national team often have fierce matchups against the Australian cricket team in the Border Gavaskar Trophy which is played every two years.