Hong Kong Cricket

Hong Kong Cricket Team Guide

The Hong Kong cricket team is an associate member of the ICC, and is governed by Cricket Hong Kong. Due to the teams ICC status, it can participate in prestigious events such as the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy and the Men’s T20 World Cup.

History Of The Hong Kong Cricket Team

Cricket has been around in Hong Kong since the 19th century, introduced by the British. They became an associate member of the ICC in 1969. The closest the Hong Kong cricket team have been to playing in a 50 over ODI World Cup was in 2014 when they finished 3rd in qualifying but they have featured in two T20 World Cups, and in four Asia Cup tournaments. Hong Kong currently play in division two of the World Cricket League.

Where Does The Hong Kong Cricket Team Play?

The base of the Hong Kong cricket team is the Mission Road ground , it was approved by the ICC as the first venue in East Asia or China to host ODI’s in 2016.

Former Captains Of The Hong Kong Cricket Team

Hong Kong born Jamie Atkinson captained the Hong Kong cricket team in ODI’s and T20I’s between 2014 and 2015. He also featured in first class cricket as batter for Warwickshire in English domestic cricket. Interestingly in 2008 he became the first cricketer male or female born in the 1990’s to play in an ODI when at the age of 17 he made his debut against the Pakistan national cricket team in the Asia cup.

Top Run Scorers In Hong Kong Cricket Team History

Current player Nizakat Khan has scored 1756 international runs for Hong Kong cricket team so far, more than any other player.

Top Wicket Takers In Hong Kong Cricket Team History

Seam bowler Aizaz Khan has so far taken 72 international wickets during his 9 year career for the Hong Kong cricket team, an impressive feat.

Memorable Games For The Hong Kong Cricket Team

During the qualifying tournament for the 2019 World Cup, the Hong Kong cricket team pulled off its first ever victory against a full ODI nation to leave the participation of the Afghanistan national cricket team in some doubt for the 2019 World Cup in England. Batting first Anshy Rath’s 65 and useful contributions throughout the rest of the order saw Hong Kong make 241 for 8 from their 50 overs at Bulawayo. The Afghan target was reduced to 226 from 46 overs after rain but an excellent spell of off spin bowling from Eshan Khan who took 4 for 33 backed by good fielding put them under severe pressure. Dawlat Zadran’s late flurry (40 not out from 30 deliveries) couldn’t prevent Hong Kong pulling off a significant victory by the fairly comfortable margin of 30 runs.

In 2014 Hong Kong stunned co-hosts in the form of the Bangladesh national cricket team in the World T20 in a result dubbed ‘the shock of the tournament’. Batting first Bangladesh were bowled out inside 17 overs for 108 with Nadeem Ahmed taking 4 for 21 and Nizakat Khan 3 for 19. Bangladesh collapsed losing their final 7 wickets for just 23 runs in only 5.5 overs. The chase didn’t prove easy for the Hong Kong cricket team but Irfan Ahmed (34) and Munir Dar (36) pulled them close to victory which was completed with two balls and two wickets remaining when Haseedb Ahjad smeared Abdul Razzak over extra cover for 6 to stun the Chattogram crowd.