Vijay Hazare Trophy

Vijay Hazare Trophy logo

What Is The Vijay Hazare Trophy?

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is an Indian domestic fifty over  tournament organised by the BCCI. It’s participated by the state teams that feature in the Ranji Trophy.

When Is The Vijay Hazare Trophy Played?

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is contested every year with the final usually being in December.

History Of The Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Vijay Hazare Trophy has been played since 1993 (known as the Ranji One Day Trophy until 2006-07) but early editions were contested within zones without an overall national champion being crowned. This changed in 2001-02 when later stages and finals were introduced for zone winners. Tamil Nadu are the most successful team having lifted the Vijay Hazare Trophy on five separate occasions.

Top Run Scorer In Vijay Hazare Trophy History

Delhi born Yashpal Singh scored 3193 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy across his career, he boasted a first class average of over 50 and also featured for Kolkata Knight Riders and Kochi Tuskers Kerala in the IPL.

Top Wicket Taker In Vijay Hazare Trophy History

Comprehensive bowling statistics for the Vijay Hazare Trophy are difficult to locate but it has been a launching pad for many future Indian national cricket team stars, the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohhamed Siraj have been leading wicket takers in individual seasons of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Memorable Games In The Vijay Hazare Trophy

World records tumbled at Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore in November 2022 when Tamil Nadu met Arunachal Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Batting first Tamil Nadu made a remarkable 506 for 2 in 50 overs, becoming the first team to top 500 in list A cricket and subsequently making the largest ever team score. Openers Sai Sudarshan and Narayan Jagadeesan piled on 416 for the first wicket, the highest ever partnership in the format. Jagadeesan was dismissed for a remarkable 277 from 141 balls hitting 25 fours and 15 sixes, again a World record individual score in the format. The unfortunate Chetan Anand’s leg spinners conceded 114 runs in 10 overs, the most a bowler had ever conceded in 50 over cricket and when Arunachal Pradesh were dismissed for just 71 to lose by 435 runs they recorded the heaviest ever defeat in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. 

It’s not always a batsman’s game. In 2014 Rajasthan recorded one of the lowest ever scores in domestic list A cricket when they were bundled out for just 35 by Railways at Nagpur in that years rendition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The top four batters were dismissed for ducks as they slipped to 1 for 4, they failed to recover from such a disastrous start at one point being 17 for 8, then finally 35 all out. A total that was overhauled in less than 6 overs as they fell to crushing 9 wicket defeat. Anureet Singh and Amit Mishra shared 5 wickets each to humble the hapless Rajasthan batting line up.

Similar Competitions To The Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy is also a domestic Indian white ball trophy; those interested in this page may also want to check out the section on that.