UAE Cricket

UAE Cricket Team Guide

The UAE cricket team have been an associate member of the ICC since 1990. They are governed by the Emirates Cricket Board, and are eligible to play in prestigious tournaments such as the ICC ODI World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup and ICC Champions Trophy. The ICC’s headquarters have actually been based in Dubai since 2005.

History Of The UAE Cricket Team 

Cricket in the country dates back to the late 19th century when it was introduced by the British Army. The UAE cricket team first appeared in 1976, with a cricket board forming in 1989 the same year that they became an affiliate member of the ICC and a year later an associate member. The UAE cricket team have played at two World Cups, and two ICC T20 World Cup tournaments. 

Where Does The UAE Cricket Team Play?

The Sharjah Cricket Stadium which has hosted over 200 ODI’s, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi and the ICC Academy Ground in Dubai are all top class International venues which often host the UAE cricket team.

Former Captains Of The UAE Cricket Team

Sultan Zarawani led the UAE cricket team to its first World Cup in 1996, unfortunately he was banned for life after the tournament for being critical of the officials of the Emirates Cricket Board.

Top Run Scorers In UAE Cricket Team History

All rounder Rohan Mustafa has scored a total of 2510 International runs for the UAE cricket team in a career spanning 9 years. He also features high on the list of leading wicket takers.

Top Wicket Takers In UAE Cricket Team History

Seam bowler Zahoor Khan has taken 148 wickets for UAE cricket team, most in the countries cricketing history to date.

Memorable Games For The UAE Cricket Team

The UAE cricket team made its World Cup debut in 1996 and they did also enjoy a first victory on the biggest stage. Their meeting with the Netherlands cricket team in Lahore was interestingly the first ever official  ODI between two associate nations. Peter Cantrell’s fairly painstaking 47 (from 106 balls) was Netherlands top score as they scored 216 for 9 from 50 overs. The star with the ball for the UAE cricket team was off spinner Shaukat Dukanwala who took 5 for 29. In reply UAE were given a great start by Saleem Raja who hit 84 from just 68 balls as he added 117 for the first wicket with Azhar Saeed and from then the chase was a formality. Mohammad Ishaq finished the job with 51 not out as they won with over five overs to spare.

The UAE cricket team recently enjoyed a stunning victory against the New Zealand national cricket team in a T20 match in Dubai. Excellent new ball bowling from Muhanmmad Jawadullah and Aayan Afzal Khan set the tone and had the Kiwi’s reeling on 38 for 4 shortly after the end of the powerplay. Mark Chapman guided the recovery with 63 from 46 balls as they got up to 142 for 8. Tim Southee removed Aryansh Shamra after three balls of the innings for a duck, but from then on, the UAE cricket team batters handled the chase brilliantly against a high class attack. Opener and skipper Muhammad Waseem ensured the run rate was never an issue hitting a quickfire 55 from 29 balls, then Asif Khan finished things off with 48 not out from 29 balls as the UAE cricket team cruised to a major upset with 26 balls remaining. A thumping win for an associate nation against a test playing nation and quality white ball outfit.