Islamabad United

Islamabad United logo

Islamabad United Cricket Team Guide

Hailing from the capital city of Pakistan, Islamabad United are one of the franchise sides that participates in the Pakistan Super League. They were one of the founding members of the PSL upon its conception.

Islamabad United Cricket Team Background

Purchased by Leonine Global Sports back in 2015 for $15 million, Islamabad United were one of the first 6 teams to participate in Pakistan’s new franchise cricket team league. The team play in bright red kits, something which has become synonymous with the side over the years and were the first team to record multiple title wins in the PSL.

Where Does Islamabad United Play?

The homeground of Islamabad United is the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. This has a capacity of around 15,000 and has had its fair share of international matches played here, including some matches during the 1996 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Islamabad United Players

Islamabad United have had a number of standout players who have played for the Pakistan national cricket team over the years. Some of the most notable names include Asif Ali, and all rounder Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf and bowler Mohammad Sami.

The side has also had a plethora of big name overseas players take to the pitch for them too, with New Zealand national cricket team wicket keeper Luke Ronchi, England cricket team player Alex Hales, Australian Shane Watson and Andre Russel of the West Indies all playing for Islamabad UnIted over the years.

Memorable Games For The Islamabad United Cricket Team

The first edition of the PSL was a memorable one for Islamabad United, not only due to it being the competition’s inaugural outing, but also the way they performed in it. Despite finishing in 3rd place in the league stage, winning 4 of their games, they would progress to an eliminator match, facing off against the Karachi Kings.Β 

In this match, Mohammad Sami would record a highly impressive 5 wickets from just 8 balls, limiting the Karachi Kings to 111/9 after their 20 overs. In response, Islamabad United would take to the crease in inspiring fashion, with Brad Haddin scoring 52 runs not out from 29 balls. The side from the capital would go on to only concede 1 wicket, winning with a final score of 115/1 with over 5 overs to spare.

The second eliminator match against Peshawar Zalmi was as equally as dominant for Islamabad United, however, this time they batted first. What followed was a highly impressive stint at the crease for Sharjeel Khan who would score 117. Only conceding 3 wickets, Islamabad would finish on 176/3. Once again though, the side’s bowlers proved too much for their opposition, with Imran Khalid taking 4 for himself. Their opposition would concede defeat in the 18th over, seeing United progress to the final after a 50 run winning margin.

In the final, Islamabad United would play Quetta Gladiators, and after winning the toss, decided to field first, capitalising on the fine form of their bowlers. This would persist for the side as Andre Russell took 3 wickets, helping limit the Gladiators to 174/7. In strong fashion, Islamabad responded to the chase, with West Indies cricket team player Dwayne Smith scoring 73 runs. By the 8th over, Islamabad United were in winning distance and by the 4th ball, they surpassed their target, claiming the first ever PSL title.

Rivals Of The Islamabad United Cricket Team

The main rivals of Islamabad United are Peshawar Zalmi, with these two sides having a number of fierce matchups over the years since the competition began.