The Big Bash League

What Is The Big Bash League?

The Big Big Bash league is the franchise based T20 tournament played in Australia every year. It features 8 city based franchise teams with both Melbourne and Sydney having two teams. The other teams are based in Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, and Hobart.

When Is The Big Bash League Played?

The Big Bash League takes place annually in the Australian summer. The next edition will begin in December 2023 ending in early February 2024.

History Of The Big Bash League

A franchise T20 tournament replaced the Australian domestic T20 competition in 2011. The current champions Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in Big Bash League history having won 5 titles.

Top Run Scorers In The Big Bash League

Australian cricket team international Chris Lynn has scored 3421 runs in the Big Bash league making 24 fifties and a century in 100 innings. Aaron Finch has the second most runs throughout the history of the Big Bash league folowing Lynn closely behind with 3245 runs, holding 2 centuries to his name.

Top Wicket Takers In The Big Bash League

Sean Abbott of the Sydney Sixers has taken 125 wickets in 94 Big Bash League matches. Andrew Tye has taken 18 wickets in just 85 games, with this veteran being active in the league since 2011 and having a strike rate of 88.8.

Memorable Games In The Big Bash League

The fourth edition of the Big Bash League saw the final go absolutely down to the wire. Sydney Sixers met Perth Scorchers in Canberra in late January 2015 in what was to prove an absolute thriller. Batting first the Sixers made a sluggish start. When Jordan Silk was dismissed in the 10th over they had made just 49/4. Skipper Moises Henriques led the recovery with 77 from 57 balls to keep his team in the hunt as they totalled 147/5. Perth started well in reply with Shaun Marsh and Michael Klinger adding 70 in 11.3 overs for the first wicket.

They still looked to be cruising at the end of 18 overs needing just 17 more with 8 wickets in hand but the departure of Marsh for 73 at the start of the 19th over triggered a mini collapse that brought the Sixers back into the match. After two wickets in two balls from Brett Lee in the final over it came down to the final ball with the scores level, Yasir Arafat flicked the ball straight to Heinriques for any easy run out chance but he missed the stumps, the Scorchers got the single to scrape home.

‘The big show’ Glenn Maxwell came to party for Melbourne Stars against Hobart Hurricanes in January 2022. Maxwell, one of the most sought after stars in the ICC T20 World Cup broke an individual record and helped his team break a team record on the same night. Maxwell slammed 22 fours and 4 sixes in his innings of 154 not out, with help from Marcus Stoinis who scored 75 from just 31 balls the stars made a mammoth 273 for 2, a Big Bash League record with Maxwell hitting the highest ever individual score in the competition. They won the match by over 100 runs.

Similar Competitions To The Big Bash League

The Indian Premier League is a T20 franchise league like the Big Bash League, those interested in this page may want to check out that section or any of the others that you can find here at Cricket Today.

Latest Big Bash League News