Bangladesh Premier League

What Is The Bangladesh Premier League?

The Bangladesh Premier League is a Twenty20 cricket tournament comprising seven franchise teams. The Indian Premier League and Pakistan Super League are very similar, both in terms of their cricket sense and geographical location.

When Is The Bangladesh Premier League Played?

The Bangladesh Premier League takes place on an annual basis, usually in the early part of the year. The next edition of the Bangladesh Premier League scheduled to begin in January 2024, with this arguably being the biggest event in Bangladeshi cricket every year.

History Of The Bangladesh Premier League

The Bangladesh Premier League was formed in 2011 with the first edition beginning in February 2012. The current champions Comilla Victorians are the most successful team having won the Bangladesh Premier League on four different occasions.

Top Run Scorer In Bangladesh Premier League History

Highly experienced Bangladesh national cricket team opening batter Tamin Iqbal leads the Bangladesh Premier League run makers having scored 2628 runs in the competition.

Top Wicket Taker In Bangladesh Premier League History

Bangladesh’s most successful and decorated cricketer Shakib Al Hasan has the most wickets in Bangladesh Premier League History, with 122 to his name.

Memorable Games In The Bangladesh Premier League

In the shorter formats of the game, even matches that look a formality can swing back in the other direction in a short period of time. This was certainly the case in the 2022 Bangladesh Premier League final between Comilla Victorians and Fortune Barishal at Dhaka. Batting first, all of the Comilla batters struggled to score at a decent rate except for one, Sunil Narine. Opening in this game he scored 57 in just 23 balls and when he was dismissed still inside the power play  he’d scored all but 12 of the total. After his dismissal the Barishal bowlers were able to turn the screw restricting Comilla to 151 for 8, only England cricket team player Moeen Ali with 38 scored anything else of note. The total seemed to be formality passing the halfway stage, when that man Narine dismissed the dangerous Chris Gayle they needed just 45 more runs in 7.1 overs but they completely lost their way. Narine added to his batting fireworks taking 2 for 15 as Shohidul Islam managed to defend 10 from the last over to help Comilla sneak home by just one run in this suprising Bangladesh Premier League match. It’s never over until it’s over, and unsurprisingly, Narine was named player of the match.

Scoring a century in a T20 match is always an impressive feat, but two batters achieving this milestone in the same innings is rare. This happened on the 2019 Bangladesh Premier League at Chattogram when Rangpur Riders defeated Chittagong Vikings by 72 runs. England’s Alex Hales and South Africa national cricket team player Rilee Roussouw were in imperious form as they shared a partnership of 174 in just 13 overs. Hales clobbered five sixes in his 48 ball 100, and Rossouw six in his 51 ball 100 not out. Rangpur clocked up the highest total ever in the Bangladesh Premier League of 239 for 4 thanks to the pair’s brutal onslaught. 

Similar Competitions To The Bangladesh Premier League

The Lanka Premier League and SA20 League are T20 franchise tournaments similar to the Bangladesh Premier League. Those interested in this page may also want to check out those sections.