IPL Indian Premier League

What Is The IPL?

The IPL (Indian Premier League) is a franchise based T20 cricket League that takes place annually in India. It’s made up of ten franchises, it is regarded as the World’s most popular and most lucrative cricket league.

When Is The IPL Played?

The IPL has a season every year. The next edition of the tournament will begin in March 2024 lasting for around two months.

History Of The IPL

The IPL was founded by the BCCI (The board of control for Cricket in India) in 2007 following India’s victory at the ICC T20 World Cup. An auction of franchises was held in January 2008 with the reserve price to own an IPL team set at $400 million. The original franchises were based in Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and Mumbai.

The IPL started in 2008 with the inaugural winners being the Rajastan Royals who defeated the Chennai Super Kings in the final. 15 teams in total have featured in the IPL since its inception with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings sharing five victories of the Indian Premier League each making them the most successful franchises to feature. The league has now expanded to ten franchises and is played over a round robin system with each team playing each other twice, culminating in play offs between the highest placed teams to see who contests the final.

Top Run Scorers In The IPL

India national cricket team and Royal Challengers Bangalore star Virat Kohli holds the record for the most runs in the IPL. The former Indian captain has amassed 7263 runs over 237 appearances at an average of 37.2.

Top Wicket Takers In The IPL

India leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is the leading wicket taker in IPL history taking 187 in 145 appearances. He’s starred for three different IPL franchises Mumbai Indians (2011-13), Royal Challengers Bangalore (2014-2021) and currently Rajasthan Royals.

Memorable Games In The IPL

The IPL launched in 2008 and it started with a bang. In the very first game New Zealand cricket team star Brendon McCullum smashed a remarkable 158 off just 73 balls hitting ten fours and 13 sixes flaying the Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling to all parts of M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. Kolkata Knight Riders won the game by huge margin but McCullum’s fireworks meant everyone was talking about the IPL.

In 2013 McCullum’s opening match fireworks were surpassed at the same stadium by West Indies cricket team talisman Chris Gayle who hit a remarkable 175 not out just 66 deliveries for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune warriors. Gayle broke record after record in the innings including highest ever IPL score, fattest century (30 balls), most sixes in an innings (17) as he fired his team to the highest score in the tournament’s history.

Similar Competitions To The IPL

The SA20 also features 6 teams owned by IPL Franchises, those interested in IPL may want to check out of the section on the SA20 cricket league.

Latest IPL News