Denmark Cricket

Denmark flag

Denmark Cricket Team Guide

The Danish Cricket Federation is the governing body behind the Denmark cricket team, with these being associate members of the ICC. Despite a long cricketing heritage, they are one of many international cricket teams from Europe that still aim to assert themselves on the global stage.

History of Denmark Cricket Team

Denmark actually has a long history in cricket, with the first club being formed back in 1865 by English railway workers. The first international match the country had was against the Netherlands cricket team back in 1955, and just over 10 years later, in 1966, the Denmark cricket team became an associate member of the ICC. They played in their first ICC Trophy in 1979, being knocked out by the Sri Lanka national cricket team in the semi-finals.

Where Does The Denmark Cricket Team Play?

Located in Brondby, Svanholm Park is one of the main grounds which regularly hosts the Denmark cricket team. The Nykøbing Mors Ground is another popular ground used by the Danes, with this playing host to Denmark’s only ever game against a full ICC member, that being the Ireland cricket team.

Former Captains Of The Denmark Cricket Team

Hamid Ali Mazhar Shah and Frederik Andreas Klokker have been two frequent captains for the Denmark cricket team since gaining T20I status, leading them out against a whole array of different international cricket teams.

Top Run Scorers In Denmark Cricket Team History

Hamid Shah was the first player to surpass 500 wickets for the Denmark cricket team. Saif Ahmad and Taranjit Bharaj are two other players who have racked up a high number of runs for their country.

Top Wicket Takers In Denmark Cricket Team History

Right-arm medium bowler Saud Munir set a record for the Denmark cricket team in T20I cricket, becoming the first player to take 5 wickets in a single match. Nicolaj Damgaard Laegsgaard and Saif Ali Ahmad are two other bowlers who have been notable wicket-takers for their nation.

Memorable Games For The Denmark Cricket Team

Towards the end of 2007, the Denmark cricket team played against the Kenya cricket team across a number of different matches. Led by captain Freddie Klokker, the batsman recorded consecutive centuries against the Kenyans, sweeping them aside in both matches, a notable performance considering the reputation of the higher-ranked African nation.

The Denmark cricket team played its first T20I match against the Jersey cricket team in June 2019 after being granted full T20I status the year prior. Winning the toss before the match, the Denmark cricket team chose to field first. An impressive 4 wickets from 23 balls followed from Hamid Shah, with Jersey being limited to 131 runs from the 20 overs. Despite this being a count to feasible chase, Elliot Miles had an impressive bowling performance, taking 3 wickets from just 10 balls, with Denmark falling short by 18 runs by the end of the match. Despite the team not coming out on top, it showed the progress of the nation’s cricketing abilities.

Rivals Of The Denmark Cricket Team

The Denmark cricket team wouldn’t exactly call them rivals; however, the Sweden cricket team and Germany cricket team are two nations that the Danes have regularly faced in highly competitive matches over the years.