Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers Cricket Team Guide

The Perth Scorchers are one of the founding members of the Big Bash League, with the franchise team hailing from the city of Perth in Western Australia. They are the most successful team in the competition being the only side to win the competition on 5 occasions.

Perth Scorchers Cricket Team Background

Founded in 2011, the Perth Scorchers were one of the first 8 teams to participate in the inaugural Big Bash competition. Upon being founded, a majority of the players they initially recruited stemmed from the Western Australia cricket team, with this being an approach that the team would continue to abide by for seasons to come. 

Where Do Perth Scorchers Play?

With a capacity of 60,000, the Perth Stadium is the home ground of the Perth Scorchers. This has been their stadium since 2018, previously playing at the WACA Ground between 2011-2018. Their new ground however is a multipurpose ground, with AFL, rugby and even international matches for the Australia cricket team also taking place here.

Perth Scorchers Players

As we previously mentioned, the Perth Scorchers have a reputation of bringing through star players from Western Australia, with some of these including all rounder Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Turner and bowler Andrew Tye just to name a couple. 

As well as this, the Perth Scorchers have also had a number of key overseas players too, with Liam Livingstone of the England cricket team, Colin Munro of the New Zealand national cricket team, South African Faf du Plessis and Pakistan’s Yasir Arafat all taking to the pitch for the Western Australian side.

Memorable Games For The Perth Scorchers Cricket Team

Finishing with 5 wins from 8, the Perth Scorchers progressed to the semifinals of the 2013-14 Big Bash League. In this, they would play against the Sydney Sixers at their home ground. Winning the toss, the away Peth side chose to bat first, with Craig Simmons managing an impressive 112 from 58 balls seeing the Perth Scorchers finish on a score of 193/5. However, due to heavy rain, the Sydney Sixers were instead set a target of 54 from 5 runs. With Jason Behrendorff claiming 2 wickets early on, the Sydney Sixers would only manage 48 runs, seeing the western Australian side progress to the finals.

In the deciding title match, the Perth Scorchers would play against Tasmania’s Hobart Hurricanes. This time around though, Perth were on home soil, winning the toss and choosing to bat first again. From the 20 overs, Perth managed to score 191 runs, with Shaun Marsh finishing on 63 not out. In return, the Hobart Hurricanes started off strong, however, the wickets quickly began to pile up, bowler Brad Hogg taking 2 alone. By the end of the 20 overs, the Hobart side conceded 7 wickets and finished 39 runs short, awarding the Perth Scorchers their first ever Big Bash League championship.

Defending their title, the Perth Scorchers also won the following year’s Big Bash League. The following year they fell short in the semi finals, marking the first year the Perth Scorchers did not qualify for the final since the competition’s founding. In the 2016-17 season though, the Perth Scorchers returned to winning ways, claiming their 3rd title. The team would go 4 years before their next championship, with the team defeating the Brisbane Heat the year after this to be the first team to win the Big Bash League 5 times as well as defend the title on two separate occasions.

Rivals Of The Perth Scorchers Cricket Team

The main rivalry of the Perth Scorchers is against the Sydney Sixers due to the numerous finals the two have faced one another in over the years. Due to the constant dominance the Western Australians have shown though, the two often have fiery clashes on and even off the pitch.