Lanka Premier League

Latest Lanka Premier League News

Indian Cricket Fans | Cricket Today

Angelo Mathews Becomes The First Ever Timed Out Player

Angelo Mathews has become the first-ever player to be given out without facing a ball. The ICC ODI World Cup …
Cricket Bat And Ball | Cricket Today

Woeful England Lose Again

England’s disastrous 2023 ICC ODI World Cup defence plummeted to new depths yesterday in Bangalore with any hope of progression …
Cricket Batter | Cricket Today

Brave Afghanistan Denied As Sri Lanka Scrape Through

Group B of the Asia Cup concluded in dramatic fashion in Lahore on Tuesday as Afghanistan missed out of qualification …
Cricket Player Batting | Cricket Today

Kandy Crowned LPL Champions For The First Time

B-Love Kandy defeated Dambulla Aura in Colombo to lift the Lanka Premier League title for the first time, somewhat against …

What Is The Lanka Premier League?

The Lanka Premier league is a franchised based T20 tournament in Sri Lanka. It comprises 5 teams and is played in a round robin format then play offs. This is rather similar to the Indian Premier League, unsurprising considering its geographical proximity.

When Is The Lanka Premier League played?

The Lanka Premier League is contested every year, the most recent edition concluded in August 2023.

History Of The Lanka Premier League

The first edition of the Lanka Premier League tournament was in 2020 after delays stretching back to 2018, with the most successful franchise being Jaffna Kings who won the first three titles. This run was broken in 2023 by B-Love Kandy.

Top Run Scorer In Lanka Premier League History

Current Sri Lanka national cricket team opening batter Avishka Fernando has scored 1170 runs in the Lanka Premier League, more than any other player so far.

Top Wicket Taker In The Lanka Premier League

Sri Lankan international leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga’s 57 victims over the first four seasons of the Lanka Premier League puts him at the top of the pile in regards to wickets taken.

Memorable Games In The Caribbean Premier League

Jaffna Kings until the most recent edition of the Lanka Premier League had been the dominant force winning the competition on three occasions out of three. This run of success was ended by the team who would eventually go on to win the 2023 crown, B-Love Kandy. Only the winners would progress in the eliminator played in Colombo, when Jaffna Lings elected to bowl first on winning the toss they must have felt vindicated when Nuwan Thushara removed Pakistan national cricket team star Fakhar Zaman in the first over. This brought Dinesh Chandimal to the crease though who added early momentum striking 41 off just 24 deliveries. Useful contributions in the middle order were built around Pakistan youngster Mohammad Harris who made 79 from 49 balls which helped elevate Kandy to a very useful looking 188 for 8. Jaffna still would have felt in the hunt due the powerful batting line up they boasted including much traveled T20 players like Chris Lynn and David Miller. In reality they were never in the hunt largely due Wanindu Hasaranga who returned the quite remarkable figures of 6 wickets for 9 runs in 3.2 overs. Kandy triumphed by 61 runs, Jaffna’s dominance was over.

Given Jaffna Kings dominant record in the competition it’s no surprise that they hold records including the highest score by a team in the Lanka Premier League which was achieved against Dambulla Aura in 2022. Afghanistan national cricket team opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz smashed 73 off just 35 balls with Aviska Fernando supporting him with 54 off 30 as they added 133 off just 10.4 overs for the opening wicket hitting seven sixes between them. A late flourish Shoib Malik powered them to a formidable and record breaking 240 for 4. Aura could only get within 51 runs of that total giving the Kings victory in the Lanka Premier League on the night.

Similar Competitions To The Lanka Premier League

The PSL, Caribbean Premier League and the Big Bash League are also T20 competitions, those interested in the Lanka Premier League may also want to check out sections on those competitions.