Multan Sultans

Multan Sultans | Cricket Today

Multan Sultans Cricket Team Guide

The Multan Sultans are based in the city of Multan, located in the centre of Pakistan. The side were not actually one of the founding members of the Pakistan Super League, later being instated as the 6th team.

Multan Sultans Cricket Team Background

Founded in 2017, the Multan Sultans were the late comers to the PSL, joining the other 5 teams two years after the competition began. After being bought for $41.6 Million, the latecomer actually set a record for being the most expensive franchise at the time. The team plays in its distinct green and blue kits, with these quickly becoming recognisable within the league.

Where Do The Multan Sultans Play?

Being able to hold up to 35,000 spectators, the Multan Cricket Stadium is the home ground of the Multan Sultans. This modern ground was first created back in 2001 and has hosted a wide number of internationals for the Pakistan national cricket team over the years.

Multan Sultans Players

In terms of batters, there have been a number of notable plsyers to step up to the crease for the Multan Sultans. Some of these names include Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood and South African national cricket team star Rilee Rossouw, the latter of which was the first to record multiple centuries for the Sultans.

The bowling department for the Multan Sultans has also had a collection of impressive wicket takers too, with some of these being Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Abbas Afridi and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies cricket team.

Memorable Games For The Multan Sultans Cricket Team

The 2021 edition of the Pakistan Super League would be a memorable one for the Multan Sultans. After winning 5 of their 10 games in the league stage of the competition, they would go on to participate in a qualifier match against Islamabad United.Β 

Batting first, they would manage to put up an impressive 180 runs from their 20 overs, conceding just 5 wickets. Sohaib Maqsood would score 59 of these, doing so from 41 balls. With them being up to bowl next, Sohail Tanvir managed to take 3 wickets, halting the chase that was initially started by Usman Khawaja who scored 70. By the 19th over though, the margin was too great to be chased, with the Multan Sultans progressing to the finals, winning by 31 runs.

In the final, they would play against Peshawar Zalmi who were off the back of a close victory over Islamabad United. Batting first, the Multan Sultans put up a highly impressive 206/4 scoreline with Sohaib Maqsood finishing with 65 runs not out. This would go on to be a match high score as the Peshawar batters struggled to match the performance of their opposition, Shoaib Malik mustering up the highest total for the side with 48 runs. The score line defence was only helped by consistent wicket taking too, with Imran Tahir taking 3, helping the Multan Sultans win their first ever PSL title.

Rivals Of The Multan Sultans Cricket Team

Being latecomers to the league, the Multan Sultans don’t have any out and out rivalries, however, they have had a number of highly competitive matches against the Lahore Qalandars, especially in playoff matches and finals.