Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals Team Guide

Delhi Capitals is a franchise based professional cricket team that plays in India’s IPL.

Delhi Capitals Background

The Delhi Capitals team was founded in 2008 under their former name Delhi Daredevils which changed in 2018. It’s based in the Indian capital city New Delhi. The first captain of the team was to be local marquee signing and explosive opening batter Virender Sehwag. Australian Greg Shipperd was the first coach. In 2018 former Australia cricket team skipper Ricky Ponting took the role of head coach. They reached the final of the IPL in 2020 but lost to Mumbai Indians.

Where Do The Delhi Capitals Play?

The Delhi Capitals team play most games at the Arun Jaitley stadium in Delhi, also commonly referred to as Kotla.

Delhi Capitals Players

The Delhi Capitals have featured some big name players over the years including one of the greatest white ball players of all time, South Africa national cricket team player AB De Villiers, bullish Aussie opener David Warner, as well as England’s Kevin Pietersen. In recent years they have showcased some fine young talent such as two of the biggest up and coming stars for the Indian national cricket team, those being Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw. 

Memorable Games For The Delhi Capitals 

The Delhi based team didn’t have a lot to shout about during the 2018 edition of the IPL finishing bottom of the table but in the final game they took a significant scalp knocking traditionally one of the strongest teams Mumbai Indians out of the competition. After losing a few early wickets, it was Rishabh Pant who got the Delhi Capitals team going with a typically eye catching 64 from 44 balls. Vijay Shankar also batted well for his 43 not out as the capitals finished strongly to post 174 for 4. Mumbai Indians lost wickets at regular intervals and the game looked lost when Amit Mishra removed the dangerous Hardik Pandya for 27 until Ben Cutting played a great cameo of 37 from 20 balls. With 5 balls remaining and 11 needed, the game was in the balance. However, Harshal Patel dismissed Cutting, then Jasprit Bumrah next ball to bowl out the Mumbai Indians and send them crashing out. Something to hang on to for the Dehli Capitals after a disappointing campaign.  

Delhi Capitals reached their first ever IPL Final at the expense of Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2020. The match, played in Abu Dhabi due to the Covid-19 pandemic saw Shikhar Dhawan star with the bat for the Dehli Capitals. Batting first he top scored with 78 as they posted an imposing 189 for 3. West Indies cricket team talent Shannon Hetmyer finished the innings well with a 22 ball unbeaten 42. In reply Kagiso Rabada was the hero, taking 4 for 29 from his four overs including the big wicket of former capitals man David Warner for just 2. Kane Williamson kept the match alive with an excellent 67, but his dismissal to player of the match Marcus Stoinus in the 17th over all but put to bed Sunrisers’ challenge. Stoinus added to his 38 with the bat with 3 for 26 with the ball. The Dehli Capitals won the game by 17 runs to reach the showpiece final.