ICC T20 World Cup

What Is The ICC T20 World Cup?

The T20 World Cup is an ICC event that is the World Cup of T20 cricket. It was first contested in 2007. It is considered the premier international T20 tournament.

When Is The ICC T20 World Cup Played?

The T20 World Cup tournament has generally been played every two years since its inception, the Australian hosted 2022 tournament concluded in November when England defeated the Pakistan national cricket team by 5 wickets at the MCG to lift the trophy for the second time. Meaning they are the first country to hold both ICC white ball titles at the same time after also winning the 2019 ICC ODI World Cup. The next edition of the T20 World Cup is due to take place in the West Indies and USA in 2024.

History Of The ICC T20 World Cup

T20 cricket was first played professionally in England in 2003 when the ECB launched the world’s first domestic competition in the format. Its success quickly saw other cricket boards across the world adopt T20 cricket, less than two years later the first ever International T20 match took place between the New Zealand and Australian cricket team.

The first T20 World Cup was hosted by South Africa in 2007 with the Indian national cricket team being crowned inaugural Champions. The England and West Indies cricket team can be regarded as the two most successful teams in T20 World Cups both having lifted the trophy on two occasions. It’s been won by 6 different nations over the 10 occasions it’s taken place.

Top Run Scorers At The ICC T20 World Cup

India national cricket team superstar Virat Kohli has amassed the most runs at T20 World Cups. He has scored 1141 runs at an incredible average of 81.50 having played in his first T20 World Cup in 2012.

Top Wicket Takers At The ICC T20 World Cup

Bangladesh national cricket team all rounder Shakib Al Hasan leads the way as a wicket taker in the ICC T20 World Cup. His left arm spin has accounted for 47 batters at the tournament.

Memorable Games In The ICC T20 World Cup

The 2007 final of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup can be seen as one of the most game changing and significant matches in the history of World Cricket. When India meets Pakistan it’s always a big occasion and none more so than in a World final. India’s victory is widely attributed to be a leading factor in the conception of the Indian Premier League and India’s love for the T20 format. Batting first India scored a fairly modest total of 157 for 5, in reply Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals and fell short by just 5 runs giving India victory in a match full of tension and drama.

“Carlos Braithwaite, remember the name” said West Indian commentator Ian Bishop at the conclusion of the 2016 ICC men’s T20 World Cup final and after what the Barbados born all rounder had just achieved it would be difficult to forget. Needing an unlikely 19 off the final over to overhaul England’s 155 for 6, Braithwaite made light work of this target hitting the first four balls of Ben Stokes over into the Eden Gardens stands to seal the most dramatic of victories for his team from the jaws of defeat.

Similar Competitions To The ICC T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup is one of three ICC men’s World events. People interested in this competition may also like to check out our sections about the ICC Men’s World Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy.

Latest ICC T20 World Cup News