National T20 Cup

What Is The National T20 Cup?

The National T20 Cup is a men’s domestic T20 tournament played in Pakistan. It is now a regional tournament featuring six teams having previously being city/district based but this has changed since the inception of the PSL (Pakistan Super League)

When Is The National T20 Cup played?

The National T20 Cup takes place annually, though the next edition is in some doubt in the current format. However, every year this tournament proves to be a popular outing in the world of cricket.

History Of The National T20 Cup

The National T20 Cup is one of the oldest T20 leagues in the World having started in 2005. It was the first outside of either England’s Vitality Blast or Australia’s Big Bash League. Sialkot Stallions are the most successful team having lifted the title on six occasions.

Top Run Scorer In The National T20 Cup

Pakistan national cricket team all rounder Shoib Malik has scored 3220 runs in the National T20 cup.

Top Wicket Taker In The National T20 Cup

Pakistan off spinner Saeed Ajmal has taken 89 wickets in the National T20 Cup.

Memorable Games In The National T20 Cup

Lahore Whites were record breakers at Rawalpindi in the 2017 National T20 Cup as they recorded at the time the highest opening partnership in T20’s when Pakistan stars Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt put on an unbroken 209 for the first wicket against Islamabad. It was also the highest T20 score without a team losing a wicket. Butt played the supporting role making 55 not out but it was wicket keeper batter Akmal who provided the fireworks. He struck a brutal 150 not out off just 71 deliveries hitting twelve fours, clearing the ropes for six on a dozen occasions. An Islamabad attack featuring several Pakistan internationals had no answer to Akmal’s onslaught. The score was to prove far too many Islamabad were bowled out for 100, crashing to a 109 run defeat. Asif Ali took 3 for 27, Bilal Asif 3 for 34, Wahab Riaz 2 for 7 (from 3 overs) and Umaid Asif bowled with remarkable economy conceding just 6 runs in his full quota of 4 overs in this one sided contest. 

The first ever final of the National T20 Cup produced an intriguing contest between Karachi Dolphins and Faisalabad Wolves in April 2005 at Lahore. Batting first Karachi made 158 for 7, veteran Pakistan wicket keeper Moin Khan top scored with 49  Saeed Ajmal dismissed him and took two other wickets to finish with figures of 3 for 29. In reply Mohammad Hafeez (38) and Asif Hussain (37) provided a solid platform for the Wolves but regular wickets kept the game in the balance. They finally scraped home by two wickets with just one ball remaining to become the competition’s first ever winners.

Similar Competitions To The National T20 Cup

The PSL, Vitality Blast and the Big Bash are also T20 competitions, those interested in the National T20 Cup  may also want to check out sections on those competitions here at Cricket Today.