Southern Brave

southern brave logo

Southern Brave Team Guide

Southern Brave play in The Hundred cricket competition and are one of the franchised men and women’s teams within this English cricket league.

Southern Brave Background 

Southern Brave was founded in 2019 following The Hundred cricket competition being announced by the ECB. The team represents the county clubs of Hampshire and Sussex. The first men’s coach announced before the initial draft would be Sri Lankan national cricket team legend Mahala Jayawardene, while former England captain Charlotte Edwards would see over the women’s team. Leading the teams on the field would be England cricket team and Hampshire’s James Vince and England swing bowler Anya Shrubsole.

Where Do Southern Brave Play?

The Southern Brave call The Rose Bowl on the outskirts of Southampton home. The stadium first opened in 2001 and hosted its first international match in 2003.

Southern Brave Players

England T20 specialists Chris Jordan and Tymal Mills have starred with the ball for Southern Brave in The Hundred, another to look out for wearing the colours is up and coming star Rehan Ahmed who first broke into the England team aged just 18. A prodigious talent who bowls leg spin and shows real flare with the bat. Big overseas names to feature for the men’s team include South Africa national cricket team player Quinton De Kock, New Zealand national cricket team stars Devon Conway, Colin De Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner and Finn Allen as well as Australians Tim David and Marcus Stoinis. 

For the women, England top order players Danni Wyatt and Sophia Dunkley play for the Brave as well as a number of international stars including West Indies cricket team player Stefanie Taylor, India’s Smriti Mandhana and Australia’s Tahalia Mcgrath.

Memorable Games For The Southern Brave

The first ever winners of the men’s Hundred were Southern Brave in 2021 when they defeated Birmingham Phoenix at Lords. They reached the final the hard way after losing their opening two group games but found form at the right time to take the crown. Batting first they recovered from a slow start to post a good looking total of 168 for 5 Paul Stirling helped the Southern Brave recover from the early loss of Quention De Kock. The burly Ireland cricket team player top scored with 61 from 36 balls and Ross Whitely provided some late impetus with an unbeaten 44 from just 19 balls. In reply only Liam Livingstone’s 46 from 19 balls posed any threat as the Phoenix fell short by 32 runs, Tymal Mills starred with the ball conceding just 13 from his 20 deliveries.

After losing the first two finals to Oval Invincibles, the Southern Brave women’s team made no mistake in the 2023 final winning the competition for the first time against Northern Superchargers at Lords. It was a fitting end for captain Anya Shrubsole who announced before the match that it was to be her final game of professional cricket. After the loss of early wickets, player of the match Danni Wyatt (59 from 38 balls) and Freya Kemp (31 from 17) got the Brave up to a competitive 139 for 6. In reply opening bowler Lauren Bell struck some early blows that Superchargers never recovered from as the Southern Brave finally finished the right side of a final result, securing the trophy by 34 runs.