Road Safety World Series

What Is The Road Safety World Series?

The Road Safety World Series in T20 featuring retired International cricketers representing their nations. This league features some of each countries most iconic cricketing legends, with it being a more novelty league when compared to other major competitions.

When Is The Road Safety World Series Played?

The Road Safety World Series takes place annually at differing times of the year the next is due to be in England. India has hosted the previous two editions.

History Of The Road Safety World Series 

The Road Safety World Series was founded by Ravi Gaikwad, the chief road traffic officer of Thane, India in collaboration with the BCCI. Sunil Gavaskar is commissioner of the series and Sachin Tendulkar brand ambassador. The most successful team are the India Legends who have won both editions of the Road Safety World Series to date, featuring iconic players who dominated the Indian national cricket team previously.

Top Run Scorer In Road Safety World Series History

Former Sri Lanka national cricket team opener Tiillakaratne Dilshan has scored 463 runs in the Road Safety World series, the most in the competitions brief history.

Top Wicket Taker In Road Safety World Series History

Another Sri Lankan tops the list for wickets in the Road Safety World Series, with swing bowler Nuwan Kulasekara taking 20.

Memorable Games In The Road Safety World Series

India and the West Indies Legends produced a brilliant, high scoring Semi Final in the first edition of the Road Safety World Series at Raipur in 2021. Virender Sehwag with 35 in just 17 balls got India off to flier, Sachin Tendulkar played with typical style in his 65 and Yuvraj Singh helped the innings end with great impetus hitting six sixes in the final two overs scoring 49 not out in just 20 balls as they posted 218 for 3. West Indies made a decent first of chasing down this imposing target. Former West Indies cricket team player Dwayne Smith top scored with 63, Narsingh Deonarine added 59 and Brian Lara’s 46 from 28 balls put the game within Caribbean team’s reach. However, the dismissal of the latter mentioned Lara was the turning point of this Road Safety World Series match. He’d reduced the target to 19 from 10 balls but the innings petered out after he was bowled by Vinay Kumar. At the end, the India Legends won by 12 runs.

Naman Ojha scored a brilliant century to help India Legends defeat Sri Legends in the 2022 Road Safety World Series final. Batting first India were rocked by the loss of Sachin Tendulkar first ball to Nuwan Kulasekara then Suresh Raini fell second the ball to the same former Sri Lankan bowler. Viany Kumar joined Ojha to start the rebuild he made 36 but it was Ojha who took control ending the innings on 108 not from 71 deliveries hitting 15 fours and 2 sixes. India had recovered from those early losses to post 195 for 6. Sri Lanka’s reply started in stumbling fashion by the time they had lost key man Tilekeratne Dishan and Upal Tharanga in quick succession they were floundering on 41 for 4. In truth from that point they never threatened India’s total. Ishan Jayaratne posted a half century but he couldn’t prevent Sri Lanka falling short by 33 runs giving India Legends a second Road Safety World Series crown.

Similar Competitions To The Road Safety World Series

The T20 World Cup is also a T20 tournament featuring International teams. If international cricket is not of interest though, there are plenty of other T20 Leagues such as the dominant Indian Premier League. Those interested in the Road Safety World Series may also want to check out these alternative highly competitive competitions.