Guyana Amazon Warriors

Guyana Amazon Warriors | Cricket Today

Guyana Amazon Warriors Cricket Team Guide

The Guyana Amazon Warriors cricket team are one of the founding franchise members of the Caribbean Premier League, with them hailing from the capital of Georgetown in Guyana, a small nation located on the northern coast of the South American continent.

Guyana Amazon Warriors Cricket Team Background

Established in 2013 following the announcement of the CSL, the Guyana Amazon Warriors were the sole franchise team coming from Guyana. Their kits are an amalgamation of the colours gold, green, red, black and white, all of which can be seen on the flag of Guyana. 

Where Do The Guyana Amazon Warriors Play?

Providence Stadium acts as the home ground for the Guyana Amazon Warriors, with this ground first being built back in 2006. This has a capacity of 20,000 and has hosted a plethora of international matches over the years, predominantly for the West Indies cricket team.

Guyana Amazon Warriors Players

When it comes to players who have represented the West Indies in international competitions, the Guyana Amazon Warriors has had a number of these, with some of the biggest names including top order batter Shimron Hetmyer, the experienced Lendl Simmons, bowler Romario Shepherd and allrounder Odean Smith.

In regards to overseas players, the Guyana Amazon Warriors has had a number of big name stars take to the field for them in the CSL, with some of these including star bowler Imran Tahir of the South Africa national cricket team, Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, New Zealand cricket team batter Martin Guptill and Australian top order batter Brad Hodge.

Memorable Games For The Guyana Amazon Warriors Cricket Team

Although the first free years of the teams participation in the Caribbean Premier League were met with little success, the 2023 edition would be a milestone year for the Guyana Amazon Warriors. After finishing top of the league standings after winning 8 games and only losing 2, they would face off against the Trinbago Knight Riders in a qualifier match.

In this, the Guyana Amazon Warriors batted first, with the team finishing on a respectable 166/7 scoreline partially helped thanks to Saim Ayub’s 49 runs. However, Chadwick Walton put up an impressive stint at the crease, scoring 80 not out as the Guyana bowlers struggled to counter him. Surpassing the target score with 2 overs to spare, the Amazon Warriors would be sent to a second qualifier match.

In this, they would face off against the Jamaica Tallawahs who had just defeated the Saint Lucia Kings in impressive fashion. This time around, Azam Khan was one of the standout batters for the Guyana Amazon Warriors, scoring 54 runs from half as many balls. By the end of the 20 overs, the side amassed 182 ruins, a target which would be too steep to chase for the Jamaica side. With Imran Tahir taking 3 wickets from just 7 balls, theTallawahs fell short by 81 runs, conceding defeat with 5 overs left.

This would see the Guyana Amazon Warriors play a rematch in the final against the Trinbago Knight Riders. Fielding first, the Guyana side managed to limit all batters who approached the crease, with South African Dwaine Pretorius taking 4 wickets to leave the Trinidad side on a run total of 94. This level of bowling couldn’t be mirrored when it came to their turn, only managing to take 1 wicket in total. Saim Ayub managed to score 52 runs not out as the side effortlessly surpassed the target score with 6 overs to spare, awarding the Guyana Amazon Warriors with their first ever CPL title.

Rivals Of The Guyana Amazon Warriors Cricket Team

With there only being 6 teams who take part in the Caribbean Premier League, rivalries between all of the competing teams have begun to flourish since the tournament began. Should you wish to find out more about the other sides in the league, you can find all of this here at Cricket Today.