The Hundred Cricket League

What Is The Hundred Cricket League?

The Hundred cricket league is a franchise based cricket tournament established by the ECB (England and Wales Cricket board). The format differs from T20 and the ICC T20 World Cup slightly in that each innings only lasts 100 balls, with traditional overs split into 5 or 10 ball segments. The men’s tournament runs alongside the women with each tournament featuring 8 franchises based in UK cities or regions. Many of the men’s and women’s matches are back to back at the same venue with one ticket giving the spectator access to both matches.

When Is The Hundred Cricket League Played?

The Hundred cricket league takes place every UK summer.

History Of The Hundred Cricket League

The concept of The Hundred cricket league dates back to 2016 when a franchised UK T20 tournament was proposed to rival the IPL. The format was changed so matches could be condensed into two and a half hours, appealing to free to air television channels such as the BBC. The first edition of the tournament was in 2021 as it was delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Southern Brave and Trent Rockets have won the first two men’s editions of The Hundred cricket league with the Oval Invincibles taking the woman’s crown twice.

Top Run Scorer In The Hundred Cricket League

England cricket team batter Dawid Malan lead the way with 591 runs in the first two seasons of The Hundred cricket league. He also recorded a highest score of 98 and an impressive strike rate of 147 during the inaugural two editions.

Top Wicket Taker In The Hundred Cricket League

Former England all rounder Samit Patel took the most wickets over the first two seasons of The Hundred cricket league, taking 21.

Memorable Matches In The Hundred Cricket League

The shortest formats of the game are often associated with big hitting and high scorers but some of the most thrilling contests are often the lower scoring affairs. This was certainly the case with the 2022 men’s final. Manchester Originals batting first at ‘home of cricket’ Lords made a modest 120/9 in their 100 deliveries Sam Cook doing the damage with the ball for Trent Rockets taking 4 for 18 in his 20 balls. The Rockets reply was an equal struggle with Manchester Originals probably slight favourites going into the final set of 5 balls. Captain Lewis Gregory held his nerve though hitting Richard Gleeson for a six and a four to see his team home with two balls, and just two wickets to spare

Rarely has a match been dominated more by one player than when Oval Invincibles and England all rounder Will Jacks scored 108 Not Out chasing down Southern Braves score of 138/6 almost on his own. Jacks incredible innings during the 2022 edition of The Hundred cricket league came in just 48 balls with hitting 10 fours and 8 sixes. His brutal destruction of the Southern Brave attack saw his team to victory with 18 balls and 7 wickets in hand. It was only the second century to have been scored to date in the competition.

Similar Competitions To The Hundred Cricket League

The Indian Premier League is also a franchise based short format tournament, with the Big Bash League also falling under the same banner. Those interested in The Hundred may also want to check out these sections we also have on site.

Latest The Hundred News

Cricket Ball On Field | Cricket Today

Oval Invincibles Fight Back To Win Men’s Hundred

Oval Invincibles fought back from disastrous start to claim their maiden men’s Hundred cricket title at Lords against Manchester Originals, who for the second consecutive …
Cricket Batter | Cricket Today

Spencer Johnson’s Incredible Hundred Debut For The Oval Invincibles

Short format cricket is regularly referred to as a batter’s game but an scarcely believable debut by Australian cricket team fast bowler Spencer Johnson is …