Gibraltar Cricket

Gibraltar Cricket Team Guide

The Gibraltar cricket team represents the British overseas territory of Gibraltar in international cricket. They have been an associate member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) since 1969. Gibraltar has participated in various international tournaments, including the ICC Trophy and the European Cricket Championship. Over the years the team has played against many international cricket teams.

History of Gibraltar Cricket Team

Cricket has been played in Gibraltar since the late 18th century, with British servicemen introducing the sport. The Gibraltar Cricket Club was established in 1883. In 1890, the Australia cricket team played a game against a Gibraltar Garrison team during their tour to England. The sport saw a decline during the Second World War but was revived in the 1950s. The Gibraltar Cricket Association was formed in 1960, and Gibraltar became an associate member of the ICC in 1969. The country actually played its first ever international in 1982, with this taking place against the Kenya cricket team.

Where Does The Gibraltar Cricket Team Play?

The Gibraltar cricket team plays at the Europa Sports Park. Previously, the grounds were used as a Ministry of Defence cricket pitch, but now hosts a range of sports and events. 

Former Captains Of The Gibraltar Cricket Team

Avinash Pai is a distinguished cricket player hailing from Gibraltar. During his career playing for Gibraltar, he has captained for the team on multiple occasions. Born on January 24, 1982, Balaji Avinash Pai, as he is fully named, has showcased his prowess in the cricketing arena, especially with the Gibraltar cricket team. His contributions to the Gibraltar Cricket Team over the years have been noteworthy. His all-round performances have not only added depth to the team but have also played a pivotal role in many of their successes.

Top Run Scorers In Gibraltar Cricket Team History

Louis Bruce and Balaji Avinash Pai are two prominent figures to have played for the Gibraltar cricket team, with these being the first players to reach 900 runs for their nation. The latter player was actually the first to hit a century for his country in the T20I format.

Top Wicket Takers In Gibraltar Cricket Team History

Samarth Bodha, with his right-arm medium pace, has proven to be a vital asset for Gibraltar. His consistent wicket-taking abilities saw him become one of the first players to reach 20 wickets for the Gibraltar cricket team, with Balaji Avinash Pai being another to achieve this feat.

Memorable Games For The Gibraltar Cricket Team

One of the memorable games mentioned is Gibraltar’s first T20I victory during the 2021 Valletta Cup against the Bulgaria cricket team, where captain Avinash Pai scored a century.

Rivals Of The Gibraltar Cricket Team

While Gibraltar hasn’t got any rivals yet they’ve played against various teams such as the Portugal cricket team, and Spanish cricket team and the Malta cricket team.