Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

What is the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The Syed Musthaq Ali trophy is an Indian domestic T20 tournament organised by the BCCI. It’s participated by the state teams that feature in the Ranji Trophy rather than the franchise outfits that feature in the Indian Premier League.

When Is The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Played?

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is contested on a yearly basis the next edition will begin in October 2023. This is one of the most competetive events in Indian cricket every year.

History Of The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy was first launched in 2006. Tamil Nadu under the captaincy of Dinesh Karthik were the first winners, they are in fact the most successful state in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy history having been victorious on three seperate occasions. 

Top Run Scorer In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy History

Baroda wicketkeeper batter Kedar Devdhar has scored 2282 runs in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy more than any other player, he’s also featured in the IPL for Deccan Chargers.

Top Wicket Taker In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy History

Indian national cricket team leg spinner Piyush Chawla has taken one shy of a century of wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for Gujarat, more than any other bowler in the tournaments history.

Memorable Games In The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Mumbai has produced some of India’s biggest cricketing names but until the 2022 edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy they had failed to deliver a victory in the competition. In the final against Himachal Pradesh they started well with the ball as Mohit Avasthi reduced the opposition to 20-2 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Rather than try to rebuild gradually the Himachal batters continued to go hard, a tactic which saw them fall into real trouble at 58 for 6. The lower order rallied somewhat with number 8 Ekant Sen top scoring with 37 to keep them in the game with a total of 143 for 8. Avasthi took 3 for 21 and Tanush Kotian 3 for 15. In reply Mumbai lost Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw early, India T20 superstar Shreyas Iyer batted with authority for his 34 but when Shams Mulani fell with just 2.2 overs remaining they still needed 25 with only three wickets remaining. With 23 needed from the final two overs Sarfaraz Khan provided the over they needed hitting three boundaries and leaving just six off the final over. Player of the match Kotian added to his early wickets by hitting the winning runs and sealing Mumbai’s first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy with a six in a final over thriller with three balls remaining. Sarfaraz finished unbeaten on 36.

When you think of T20 in India the IPL immediately comes to mind, but the first ever century anywhere by an Indian batsman in the format came in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and it came from one the countries finest players. Rohit Sharma hit an unbeaten 101 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai against Gujarat in 2006. The innings took just 45 balls and was all the more remarkable as Mumbai were chasing just 142 to win this historical Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match.

Similar Competitions To The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

The IPL, Vitality Blast and the Big Bash League are also T20 competitions, those interested in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy may also want to check out sections on those competitions.