Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings logo

Chennai Super Kings Cricket Team Guide

Chennai Super Kings is a franchise based professional cricket team that plays in the Indian Premier League.

Chennai Super Kings Background

The Chennai Super Kings were founded in 2008, with the team being based in the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu on the South East coast of India. Legendary India national cricket team wicket keeper batter Mahendra Singh Dhoni has captained the team since its inception the first coach was South African Kepler Wessells but Stephen Fleming took the role in 2009 after his retirement from the game, he has held the position ever since. The Chennai Super Kings are regarded as the most successful team in the IPL having appeared in the most finals and jointly winning the most titles, 5 to date.

Where Do The Chennai Super Kings Play?

The Chennai Super Kings play at the 50,000 capacity M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, more commonly known as ‘The Chepauk’.

Chennai Super Kings Players

Some huge global stars have turned out in the yellow of Chennai Super Kings one of the greatest spinners of all time Muttiah Muralitharan turned out for the team in the early days of the IPL as did England cricket team all rounder Andrew ‘Freddie’ Flintoff. More recently another great all English rounder has plied his trade for the team, Ben Stokes. The team has also been strengthen by some of India’s finest International players of the modern era, Raveindra Jadeja has played in a key role in many of the Chennai Super Kings successes in the IPL with his darting off spin bowling and explosive lower order hitting, his often spin bowling partner in the national team R Ashwin also played in the yellow between 2008-15. But no other eclipses the charisma and calm presence of the skipper, MS Dhoni.

Memorable Games For The Chennai Super Kings

Back in 2012, the Chennai Super Kings pulled off a stunning heist against Royal Challengers Bangalore at The Chepauk. RCB would be left to rue a late innings collapse from a position that should have batted CSK completely out of the game. West Indies cricket team player Chris Gayle was in typical form blasting 68 from 35 balls and Virat Kohli played a steady hand for 57, they however lost a remarkable 5 wickets in the final over to finish 205 for 8. Faf Du Plesis played well for the Chennai Super Kings making 71 and MS Dhoni looked to be doing his usual finishing job before he was dismissed for 41. At that point, the Chennai Super Kings needed an unlikely 43 from the final two overs of the match. Virat Kohli was rather surprisingly the bowler for the 19th over and Albie Morkel made him pay smashing the first 6 balls he’d face for 28 leaving 15 off the last. Vinay Kumar managed to dismiss Morkel, but could not keep the runs down as Ravindra Jadeja crashed the last ball for four to pull off an amazing victory.

Chennai Super Kings first IPL win came in the competition’s third season, 2010 when they defeated Mumbai Indians in the final at Navi Mumbai. Suresh Raina top scored with 57 not out as the Chennai Super Kings posted 168 for 5. From the moment R Ashwin delivered a maiden in the first over Mumbai always looked behind the rate, Sachin Tendulkar made 48 but it was in vain as the men in yellow secured a first IPL title by 22 runs.