Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders | Cricket Today

Trinbago Knight Riders Cricket Team Guide

The Trinbago Knight Riders are one of the original members of the Caribbean Premier League, with the side hailing from the island nations of Trinidad & Tobago.

Trinbago Knight Riders Cricket Team Background

Being founded back in 2013, the Trinibago Knight Riders were formerly known as the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel before being rebranded following the 2015 season. This was due to them being purchased by a parent company in the Indian Premier League who also owned the Kolkata Knight Riders, hence the similarity in names. The red and black of the Trinidad flag is used in the teams kits, something which has become highly synonymous with the side.

Where Do Trinbago Knight Riders Play?

The Queen’s Park Oval acts as the home stadium for the Trinibago Knight Riders, with this being able to hold 20,000 spectators. This ground dates all the way back to the late 1800’s with various international matches for the West Indies cricket team taking place here over the decades.

Trinbago Knight Riders Players

The Trinbago Knight Riders have seen a plethora of talented West Indies players over the years, with some of the most standout names including Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Sunil Narine and Darren Bravo, the latter of which was the first to take over 100 wickets for the Knight Riders.

One of the most impactful overseas players to have taken to the field for the Trinbago Knight Riders is Colin Murno, with the New Zealand national cricket team batter being the first player to surpass the 2000 run mark for the CPL side. Other notable names who have come from abroad include Kevin O’Brien of the Ireland cricket team, South African allrounder Jacques Kallis and USA bowler Ali Khan.

Memorable Games For The Trinbago Knight Riders Cricket Team

Winning 5 out of their 10 league matches, the Trinbago Knight Riders would finish 3 in the league standings and progress to a qualifier match against the Jamaica Tallawahs. Thanks to Darren Bravo putting up an impressive 86 runs and Swayne Bravo claiming 5 wickets from 32 balls, the Trindad side would win by 27 runs, sending them to the semi finals.

In this knockout game, they faced off against the Guyana Amazon Warriors, with consistent wicket taking limiting the South American side to just 108 runs.  Thanks to their bowlers laying the foundations for an easy chase, the Trinbago Knight Riders managed to win with more than an over to spare.

In the final, the Trinbago Knight Riders would play against the Barbados Royals at their home ground. The home side would bat first, wIth Kamran Akmal managing a match high score of 60 runs, helping his team achieve a score of 178/5.  Although they only managed to take 4 wickets when it came to their turn to bowl, the economic approach they took stopped any opposition players scoring over 50 runs, seeing the Royals finish 20 runs short.

This would be their first ever Caribbean Premier League title, with them going on to win 3 more championships in the following decade to assert themselves as one of the most dominant teams in the competition.

Rivals Of The Trinbago Knight Riders Cricket Team

As the Caribbean Premier League only has 6 teams competing in it, all of the participating sides have developed rivalries with one another. If you wish to find out more about other teams in the competition besides the Trinbago Knight Riders, check out Cricket Today