Adelaide Strikers

Adelaide Strikers | Cricket Today

Adelaide Strikers Cricket Team Guide

Hailing from the city of Adelaide in South Australia, the Adelaide Strikers are one of the franchise teams in the Big Bash League. This team was founded back in 2011 in the same year the competition began.

Adelaide Strikers Cricket Team Background

Replacing the Southern Redbacks who participated in the defunct Twenty20 Big Bash competition, the Adelaide Strikers have been staples of the Big Bash League ever since, often being regarded as one of the more entertaining sides in it! The team who plays in blue have their own tradition in the league, with them hosting a new years eve match every year against different teams, with this often being referred to as the NYE Clash.

Where Do The Adelaide Strikers Play?

The Adelaide Oval is home to the Adelaide Strikers, with this stadium having a capacity of just over 53,000, even having some standing segments to it.The ground is one of the most historic in the country, being opened over a century ago back in 1871 hosting a number of matches for the Australia cricket team against other international cricket teams.

Adelaide Strikers Players

Some of the best Adelaide Strikers players hailing from Australia include Jake Weatherald, Alex Carey, Travis Head, Peter Siddle, Wes Agar and Michael Neser.

IPL and Afghanistan national cricket team allrounder Rashid Khan is one of the standout overseas players that has taken to the field for the Adelaide Strikers, with West Indies cricket team star Kieron Pollard and England’s Adil Rashid being two other big names.

Memorable Games For The Adelaide Strikers Cricket Team

After finishing second to the Perth Scorchers in the points table, picking up 7 wins from 10 matches, the Adelaide Strikers progressed to the semi-finals of the Big Bash League in 2017. Here they would face off against the Melbourne Renegades in one of the closest matches in the leagues history. Batting first, Adelaide managed to finish on 178/5, with Travis Head managing 85 runs not out. This proved to be an inspirational chase for their opposition though, with the Renegades managing to score 177/4 with one ball remaining. However a dead final ball saw the stadium erupt as the Strikers held onto their 1 run lead to progress to the finals.

In the final, the Hobart Hurricanes would be their opponent. Batting first again, the Adelaide strikers put up a highly impressive 20 overs performance, with Jake Weatheralde scoring 115 from 70 balls as only 2 wickets were taken. In response, the Hobart Hurricanes looked in fine form, with D’Arcy Short managing 68 runs from 44 balls. However, 3 big wickets from Peter Siddle saw the Adelaide Strikers win by 25 runs and claim their first Big Bash League championship title.

Rivals Of The Adelaide Strikers Cricket Team

The Brisbane Heat could be regarded as the biggest rivalries of the Adelaide Strikers, with the side having a number of highly competitive matchups against the Queensland side over the seasons.