Singapore Cricket

Singapore flag

Singapore Cricket Team Guide

Governed by the Singapore Cricket Association, the Singapore cricket team is one of the international cricket teams gaining a reputation in the cricket world, especially in the 21st century.

History of Singapore Cricket Team

Cricket has been played in Singapore since the 1830s, introduced originally by the British. The Singapore cricket team first gained prominence in the late 20th century, becoming an affiliated member of the ICC in 1974, later achieving associate status. 

Where Does The Singapore Cricket Team Play?

The Kallang Ground is one of the most utilised venues for the Singapore cricket team, with this hosting both international as well domestic matches. The Indian Associate Ground is actually situated in Singapore despite what its name may suggest, with this also hosting a number of international games for the Singapore cricket team.

Former Captains Of The Singapore Cricket Team

Since the country gained full T20I status, Amjad Mahboob laid claim to the captaincy position for the Singapore cricket team. All-rounder Janak Prakash has also captained the country across various competitions.

Top Run Scorers In Singapore Cricket Team History

S Chandramohan is one of the leading run scorers for the Singapore cricket team, with the right-handed batter being one of the only players in the country’s history to hit a century in a test match.

Top Wicket Takers In Singapore Cricket Team History

Right-armed medium bowlers Janak Prakash and Amjad Mahboob are two of the most prolific wicket-takers for international fixtures, both taking over 40 wickets for the Singapore cricket team.

Memorable Games For The Singapore Cricket Team

A historic game for the Singapore cricket team took place in July 2019, following the team getting full T20I status. This saw the team face off against the Qatar cricket team in a T20 World Cup Qualifier. Winning the toss and electing to bat first, the Singapore cricket team managed to accumulate 186 runs from 20 overs, with Surendran Chandramohan managing just shy of half a century, claiming 47 runs from 39 balls. In reply, Qatar took to the crease, but the efforts were significantly halted by Janak Prakash’s 3 wickets from just 15 balls. By the end of the 20 overs, the Singapore cricket team won by 33 runs, a historic victory in the country’s cricketing history.

In September of the same year, the Singapore cricket team claimed their first victory against a full ICC member, that being the Zimbabwe cricket team. Manpreet Singh managed 41 runs, whilst Singapore hit 181 in total from 18 others. Zimbabwe replied strongly, however, narrowly missing out by 4 runs to see the Singapore cricket team take home yet another historic victory in the same year.

Rivals Of The Singapore Cricket Team

Despite not exactly being rivals, the Singapore cricket team often faces off against countries located in their geographical proximity, such as the Hong Kong national cricket team and the Bahrain cricket team. Despite the country’s smaller size compared to these nations, the Singapore cricket team still manages to showcase their skill and competitive nature against these bigger nations.