IPL Cricket Stadium

The 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) season is the 17th edition of the professional Twenty20 cricket league established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007, with the first edition in 2008.

When Does The 2024 IPL Start And Finish?

This year’s IPL will begin on Friday 22nd March when last year’s winners Chennai Super Kings take on Royal Challengers Bengaluru. The group stage of the competition finishes on the 19th of May and the knockout rounds will commence on the May 21st.

The final of the IPL 2024 will take place in Chennai on the 26th of May.

Who’s Playing And What Is The Format For The IPL 2024?

The same 10 franchise teams are participating with no new team additions to last year’s competition. The teams have been broken down into Group A and Group B, in which each team will play teams in their group once and then play teams from the other group twice (home & away fixture). This means that each team will play a total of 14 matches in the group stages, from these results the table will be formed to see who qualifies for the knockout stage.

Group AGroup B
Mumbai Indians
Kolkata Knight Riders
Rajasthan Royals
Delhi Capitals
Lucknow Super Giants
Chennai Super Kings
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Gujarat Titans
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Punjab Kings

The first match after the group stage will be a 1st vs 2nd play-off, with the victor going straight through to the IPL final. The first knockout match is between 3rd vs 4th, the winner of that match will play the loser from the first play-off for the second place in the final.

Are There Any New Rules In The 2024 IPL?

There is one additional rule this year, bowlers are allowed to bowl two bouncers per over. Bowlers were previously only allowed one bouncer per over.

Similarly to last year, teams can be selected after the toss and each team has five substitutes. Teams can use their ‘impact player’ sub which means teams can swap out a starting player for a bench player. If the team has used all 4 of their overseas players in the starting team then the ‘impact player’ must be Indian unless they substitute an overseas player out for another overseas player.

Teams can still use reviews to check wides and no-balls.

Big News For The IPL 2024

As we covered towards the end of last year, Hardik Pandya’s return to Mumbai Indians caught the headlines as he was the skipper for the Gujarat Titans. Hardik Pandya will now take the captaincy from Rohit Sharma at Mumbai.

IPL legend MS Dhoni has stood down as the captain of CSK with Ruturaj Gaikwad replacing him. This could be Dhoni’s final IPL as a player.

There has been news with two of the Australian national cricket team’s bowlers as Mitch Starc signed for KKR for a record £2.3m. This came after Pat Cummins left KKR to take up the position of skipper at Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh is to return for the first time since he was involved in a car crash back in December 2022.

Rachin Ravindra has been picked up for the first time by CSK after a great ICC ODI World Cup with New Zealand. Whilst Sri Lank and Mumbai Indians seam bowler Dilshan Madushanka is to miss the competition through injury.

IPL 2024 Prediction

CSK and MI lead the way with 5 IPL titles each and it’s hard to look past one of them making it a record 6th time.

An outside prediction for IPL glory would be the Rajasthan Royals who have made some great additions with batters Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey and bowler Nandre Burger. RR already had the key components of a title winning team with Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (skipper), Trent Boult but these additions will only strengthen their chances for the IPL 2024.