Sri Lanka Cricket

Latest Sri Lanka Cricket Team News

Indian Cricket Fans | Cricket Today

Angelo Mathews Becomes The First Ever Timed Out Player

Angelo Mathews has become the first-ever player to be given out without facing a ball. The ICC ODI World Cup …
Cricket Bat And Ball | Cricket Today

Woeful England Lose Again

England’s disastrous 2023 ICC ODI World Cup defence plummeted to new depths yesterday in Bangalore with any hope of progression …
Cricket Batter | Cricket Today

Brave Afghanistan Denied As Sri Lanka Scrape Through

Group B of the Asia Cup concluded in dramatic fashion in Lahore on Tuesday as Afghanistan missed out of qualification …
Cricket Player Batting | Cricket Today

Kandy Crowned LPL Champions For The First Time

B-Love Kandy defeated Dambulla Aura in Colombo to lift the Lanka Premier League title for the first time, somewhat against …

Sri Lanka National Cricket Team Guide

Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) is the governing body of cricket in Sri Lanka. It is a full member of the ICC, with this national team featuring in well known tournaments such as the ICC ODI World Cup, The Champions Trophy and the T2O World Cup.

History Of The Sri Lanka National Cricket Team

Sri Lanka was first an associate member of the ICC in 1965 becoming the eighth country to gain Test status in 1981. They played their first test match against England in 1982, losing by 7 wickets. A first test win came in 1985 defeating the Indian cricket team, however they came to prominence on the International stage in 1996 when they sensationally defeated Australia to win the World Cup. Sri Lanka won the T20 World Cup in 2012 and have also won the Asia Cup on six occasions.

Where Does The Sri Lanka National Cricket Team Play?

The Sri Lanka national cricket team plays much of its current Test cricket at the rebuilt Galle International Stadium, one of the most beautiful venues in world cricket. The venue was almost completely destroyed by the 2004 Tsunami, however, the venue has been restored to its former glory overlooked by the17th century Fort. The largest venue in Sri Lanka is the R.Premadasa Stadium in the capital Colombo which is largely used for limited overs cricket.

Former Captains Of  The Sri Lanka National Cricket Team

Arjuna Ranatunga is credited as the man who lifted the Sri Lanka national cricket team from underdog status to a force to be reckoned with in International Cricket. He led his country to 1996 ICC Cricket World Cup glory. The Sri Lanka national cricket team under his leadership were pioneers of ‘pinch hitting’ in that tournament which involved batters being ultra aggressive in the first 15 overs to maximise fielding restrictions.

Mahela Jayawardene captained the Sri Lanka national cricket team with distinction for 8 years. A great batsmen with Test best score of 374 he was also the first player to score a century in T20 World Cup tournaments.

Top Run Scorers In Sri Lanka National Cricket Team History

Stylish left handed wicket keeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara amassed 27,757 runs for the Sri Lanka national cricket team scoring 63 centuries.

Top Wicket Takers In Sri Lanka National Cricket Team History

Mystery spinner Muttiah Muralitharan took no fewer than 1,331 international wickets between 1992-2011, for the Sri Lanka national cricket team, a number hardly rivalled within the cricket world.

Memorable Games For The Sri Lanka National Cricket Team

Winning outside of the subcontinent is often the biggest challenge for Asian teams so the first ever Test win for the Sri Lanka national cricket team against England in 1998 was memorable. The England cricket team scored 445 in their first innings but the Sri Lanka cricket team replied with 591 thanks to Sanath Jayasuriya’s rapid couple hundred and Arivanda De Silva’s fine 152. Muttiah Muralitharan returned the amazing figures of 54.2-27-65-9 in the second innings dismissing England for 181 leaving just 36 to win. The openers obliged to give the Sri Lanka national cricket team a ten wicket success.

De Silva was in the runs again in 1996 when Sri Lanka came of age on the World stage in Lahore. He scored a brilliant 107 not out as they chased down 241 from the Australia cricket team with relative ease to win the World Cup by 7 wickets. Quite an achievement for a team that had still been an associate nation just 15 years previously.