Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers | Cricket Today

Sydney Sixers Cricket Team Guide

Participating in the Big Bash League since its inception back in 2011, the Sydney Sixers are one of two franchise teams hailing from the iconic New South Wales city in Western Australia.

Sydney Sixers Cricket Team Background

The Sydney Sixers were one of the 8 original franchise sides to participate in the first ever Big Bash League over a decade ago. The team, known for its vibrant magenta jerseys, are one of the most popular sides who participate in the competition, with the name Sydney Sixers actually being chosen over the Sydney ‘Rocks’ or ‘Edge’.

Where Do The Sydney Sixers Play?

The Sydney Cricket Ground with its 48,00 capacity is one of the oldest Stadiums in Australia. First established back in 1851, the ground has been home to various tenants over the years, not just the Sydney Sixers. Due to its size, the ground has been used by the Australia cricket team over the years, with it hosting a number of  matches against other international cricket teams.

Sydney Sixers Players

The Sydney Sixers have had a number of notable Australians take to the field for them, including big names such as Moises Henriques, Jordan Silk, Josh Philippe, Sean Abbott and Ben Dwarshuis. However, out of the Aussies, Steven Smith has arguably been one of the most standout players to pick up the bat for the Sydney Sixers, being the first player to record multiple centuries for the side.

It is not just homegrown talent which has helped with the successes of the Sydney Sixers over the years, with overseas players such as Tom Curran and James Vince from the England cricket team, Sri Lankan duo Jeevan Mendis and Sachithra Senanayake as well as Dwayne Bravo from the West Indies cricket team.

Memorable Games For The Sydney Sixers Cricket Team

Starting off their Big Bash League journey with a win against the Brisbane Heat, the first edition of the competition would go down as a memorable one for the Sydney Sixers. Finishing the regular season in 3rd place after winning 5 of their 7 matches, the side would go on to face the Hobart Hurricanes in the semi finals. This was a close on field battle, however, the Sydney side managed to come out victorious winning by just 7 runs in the final over.

From here, the Sydney Sixers would go on to face the Perth Scorchers in the final of the competition. Fielding first, the Sixers managed to limit the Perth side to 156/8, partially thanks to Brett Lee taking 2 of the 8 wickets. This set an inspiring target for Sydney as their turn at the crease approached. Starting off strong, Moises Henriques managed to score 70 runs from just 41 balls, with the Scorchers bowlers struggling to find a flow. This continued throughout the remainder of the match, only managing to take 3 wickets as the Sydney Sixers won the inaugural Big Bash League in impressive fashion by 7 wickets with just over an under to spare.

Despite experiencing a title drought for 8 years following their first win, the Sydney Sixers would make up for this for two highly impressive seasons between 2019 and 2021. In the 9th edition of the competition, the Sydney Sixers would defeat the Melbourne Stars by 19 runs in the final to claim their second title, going on to defeat the Perth Scorchers the following year by a margin of 27 runs to be one of the first teams to record a title defense in the competition.

Rivals Of The Sydney Sixers Cricket Team

As you may expect, intercity team Sydney Thunder are the out and out rivals of the Sydney Sixers, with these two having a number of highly competitive matchups over the years since the competition was founded.