The Women’s Ashes

Latest Women’s Ashes News

Cricket Player With Bat | Cricket Today

Australia Retain The Women’s Ashes

Australia’s women halted England’s stunning comeback to retain The Women’s Ashes in Southampton yesterday. In another thrilling ODI contest the …

What Is The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series?

The Women’s Ashes is a multi format series played between England and Australia. This is one of the biggest international match-ups within the women’s cricket world as England vs Australia is always a feisty competition.

When Is The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series Played?

The series is currently played biennially mirroring the men’s Ashes cricket series, alternating between host nations. The latest edition of the series started in June 2023 hosted by England.

History Of The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series

The first ever International women’s cricket series was between England and Australia in 1934/35. Up until 2013 it was exclusively a Test series but since ODI and T20 formats have been incorporated with four points for the winning team in a single Test match and two points for the victors of the white ball matches. Australia are the most successful team in Women’s Ashes cricket series having won 10 of 24 series. The England cricket team have enjoyed 6 victories with 8 series ending in draws.

Top Run Scorer In The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series

Australia’s Ellyse Perry is an all round sports woman not just an all round cricketer having also represented her country at soccer. She is the current leading run scorer in the Women’s Ashes cricket having amassed 1425 runs at an impressive average of 59.38

Top Wicket Taker In The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series

Remarkably Perry is not only the leading run scorer in Women’s Ashes cricket she’s also the leading wicket taker. With her fast bowling haven taken 55 English wickets.

Memorable Games In The Women’s Ashes Cricket Series

The 2005 men’s Ashes series is often regarded as one of the most memorable to ever be contested but it was also a significant moment for the Women’s game. Like their male counterparts England were successful after a long period without victory in a series, the women enjoyed a first outright triumph since 1963. The series was contested over two Tests with England winning the second match at Worcester to take the series 1-0. Kathrine Sciver-Brunt took 9 wickets in the match and hit 52 with the bat to take the player of the match and series awards as England were victorious by 6 wickets. More significant than the victory perhaps was the women’s team being included with the men’s victory celebrations in Trafalgar Square elevating the sport and giving it a huge platform to grow to the level it has since.

England’s women’s team had never lost a game at Chelmsford until the Australia cricket team tore up that form book in 2019. A game remembered by World record innings by Australian star batter Meg Lanning. She scored a then T20 World record for women’s cricket hitting a blistering 133 not out off just 63 balls, which also took Australia to a record score for them in T20 internationals of 226 for 3. England got nowhere near this imposing target finishing 133 for 9 as the Aussies moved to 10-2 up the series confirming their status as the powerhouse of International women’s cricket.

Similar Competitions To The Women’s Ashes

Those interested in the women’s Ashes cricket series may also want to check out sections on the Vitality Blast league as well as The Hundred cricket league.