Women’s ODI World Cup

The Women's ODI World Cup | Cricket Today

What is the Women’s ODI World Cup?

The Women’s ODI World Cup, organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the premier international championship in women’s cricket. The tournament, which is the sport’s oldest world championship, was first held in England in 1973, predating the men’s version by two years. It features matches played in the One Day International (ODI) format over 50 overs per team. Initially, the championships were played at 60 overs per team until 1993, after which it was changed to the current 50-over format.

When is the Women’s ODI World Cup played?

The Women’s ODI World Cup is held at regular four-year intervals. Since its inception in 1973, the tournament has seen several scheduling adjustments, primarily due to funding difficulties and organisational changes. 

History of the Women’s ODI World Cup

The first Women’s ODI World Cup in 1973 was a groundbreaking event, marking the beginning of women’s cricket on the international stage. The England women’s cricket team emerged victorious in this inaugural tournament. 

Since then, the Australia women’s cricket team has been the most successful team in the history of the competition, being the first to win seven separate titles. The Women’s ODI World Cup has been hosted by five countries, with India and England hosting it the most.

Memorable Games in the Women’s ODI World Cup

Over the years, the Women’s ODI World Cup has been the stage for numerous memorable matches, including the 2022 final where Australia defeated England by 71 runs to clinch their seventh title. Another notable final was in 2017 in England, where the hosts won by 9 runs against India in a thrilling match.

Top Run Scorers in the Women’s ODI World Cup

Debbie Hockley of the New Zealand women’s cricket team holds the record for being the first to amass over 1,500 runs in the tournament’s history. Her record speaks volumes about her dominance and consistency in women’s cricket over the years.

Top Wicket-Taker in Women’s ODI World Cup

Jhulan Goswami of the India women’s cricket team is one of the top wicket-takers in the history of the Women’s ODI World Cup, being the first to claim over 40 wickets. Her contributions with the ball have been pivotal for India in various editions of the tournament.

Similar Competitions to the Women’s ODI World Cup

Similar to the Women’s ODI World Cup, there are other significant tournaments in women’s cricket, including the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, which is the equivalent tournament for the Twenty20 format. The ICC Women’s Championship serves as the qualification pathway for the Women’s ODI World Cup, highlighting the interconnected nature of these competitions in promoting and developing women’s cricket globally.

The Women’s ODI World Cup has not only provided a platform for showcasing the talents of female cricketers worldwide but also played a crucial role in advancing the sport of cricket among women, making it a celebrated event in the international cricket calendar.

For more info revolving around the world of women’s cricket, check out Cricket Today!